Panning Bendigo VIC?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello fellow prospectors !

This is my first time posting. I'm fairly new to this world and have been having a blast! Panning seems to be the perfect blend of relaxation and excitement every time.

So far I've only found some gold at Reedy and Slaty creeks and had no luck elsewhere but in a weeks time I'll be heading up to Bendigo. In another post I've seen Bendigo Creek mentioned but also seen that it's on the no go list..

Does anyone have any suggestions of creeks/areas where I could go try my luck? Doesn't have to be in Bendigo just somewhere in that region. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also I attached a photo of my first gold i cleaned up cause why not!

Cheers

Attachments

• 20240807_182858.jpg
    20240807_182858.jpg
    5.8 MB · Views: 3
Welcome to PA, blackcat. You're off to a good start with that first clean-up - here's hoping there's lots more out there waiting for you.

If I remember rightly, Bendigo Creek suffered badly from mercury clean-up residues back in the old days, so unfortunately the safest course now is to leave them undisturbed. Hopefully someone here knows of legally accessible creeks in the vicinity.

Get a prospecting map of the goldfield you are interested in and look at any of the creeks and their smaller tributaries shown running through gold worked areas. They may not contain running water but after wet weather could have some water holes. Even look for dams and be prepared to carry samples there.