Food Labelling Overhaul

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave's Office

Have Detector Will Travel
Reaction score
It's been reported that food manufacturers are going to be made to have health star ratings for everything they sell under a Federal Government overhaul. I often have a box of Milo Bars in my boat for a quick snack when I'm fishing and the health star rating on them is 4 stars, now I'm no expert but I doubt that you could call a Milo Bar health food.

I hear you loud and clear Dave on labelling, for only yesterday I saw a news item which discussed the health aspects of pre packed baby food. It was found that not only did they have massive amounts of sugar but also the ingredients listed was not was in the package. Should I be surprised, not really as we have all been lied to many times.

In the same article that I quoted from Mackka, it said Australia has one of the highest levels of obesity and diabetes in the world and it is directly coralated with the amount of prossesed and fast food that we are eating. Why the F can't the Government make these companies tell people what they are eating.

Because of gst mate. In my experience of some six plus decades, if you tell( advise) someone to do something that will benefit them, they will do the opposite. E.G. - how much did the gov’t ( public money) spend on anti cigarette ads and to what avail? People heard the advise and took up vapes! Don’t do drugs- go to a pill testing station. Honestly, these days I just give up and pray that the next, next generation wakes up to themselves. Rant over from the old fart.

all the preservatives and additives shoved in everything these days to make them last longer(shorter)
bought a pepper sauce the other day at the local and it had the best before date (not the use by date ) that was 18 months past the BBD
it was rotten stank like road kill