Question about charcoal when detecting

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Hi Guys,

Still trying to get my head around using the gpx4500. As i mentioned before in other posts im a total newbie to using detector and just wanted to know a few things, if any one could help.

First: Went out yesterday for another swing tying out the 6" detech coil over some mullock heaps. Kept getting signals but couldn't find anything. The area has lots of charcoal from previous backburns so i'm presuming that detectors dont like charcoal. Is this correct? Can you set the 4500 to get around this problem or do you just go find somewhere else to detect?

The other thing is in Gippsland at this time of year the ground is super wet. Does this effect a detector at all? Should i be detecting here in the summer months only?

BTW: Got the "Seta Project" DVD by Jonathan Porter coming next week and still yet to do the a training day with Minelab so hopefully i'll understand this beast of a thing before long 8.(

From my very limited experience, Charcoal will give a signal and wet mineralised to highly mineralised ground will make your machine noisy to the point where you will have to back off your gain quite a bit.
Enhance
gain 14-8
sensitivity within 2 points of gain. Till you get more experience.

From what I understand with sensitivity. Less is more.

I've heard reasonable things about High Mineral, but haven't really had a crack with it.

Try to find a happy medium with dumbing you machine down. I never run my 4500 completely quiet. Which means more ground noise (bearable) but you will dig more ground noise "false targets". But that's just me.

From your post..